RIP Maya Angelou

A great writer, poet and thinker – spiritual in every way – passed on today. Thank you Maya, for making spiritual sense of this muddled up, mixed up world. In her own special way, she used words to express spiritually what the world meant to her, as she saw it with her own eyes and heart, and with that unique talent of hers, she has enabled many to share her spirituality. She truly is ‘a light in the world’.

In the 1990 Paris Review, Angelou was asked, “You once told me that you write lying on a made-up bed with a bottle of sherry, a dictionary, Roget’s Thesaurus, yellow pads, an ashtray, and a Bible. What’s the function of the Bible?”

“The language of all the interpretations, the translations, of the Judaic Bible and the Christian Bible, is musical, just wonderful. I read the Bible to myself; I’ll take any translation, any edition, and read it aloud, just to hear the language, hear the rhythm, and remind myself how beautiful English is. Though I do manage to mumble around in about seven or eight languages, English remains the most beautiful of languages. It will do anything,” she replied.

The Paris Review reporter then asked, “Do you read it to get inspired to pick up your own pen?”

“For melody. For content also. I’m working at trying to be a Christian and that’s serious business,” Angelou asserted. “It’s like trying to be a good Jew, a good Muslim, a good Buddhist, a good Shintoist, a good Zoroastrian, a good friend, a good lover, a good mother, a good buddy—it’s serious business. It’s not something where you think, ‘Oh, I’ve got it done. I did it all day, hotdiggety.'”

She continued, “The truth is, all day long you try to do it, try to be it. And then in the evening, if you’re honest and have a little courage, you look at yourself and say, ‘Hmm. I only blew it 86 times. Not bad.’ I’m trying to be a Christian and the Bible helps me to remind myself what I’m about.”

To read the entire wonderful article from Christian Post, click here. Thank you Maya, may you rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

